Building Africa's Food Sovereignty and Resilience through Sustainable Investments

Tuesday, 25th July, 10:30-11:30



The Inter Departmental Task Force on African Affairs meeting's objective is guided by Africa's quest to identify pathways and key drivers that enable sustainable and quality investments to build efficient agri-food systems to shape Africa's food sovereignty and resilience that hinges on the African Common Position on Food Systems as desired by the Malabo Declaration.


Africa must coalesce to realize its aspiration to build its food sovereignty and resilience through sustainable investments by leveraging the African Common Position on Food System's game-changing solutions and enabling policies and partnerships. Building resilient food systems requires significant investments. About US$76 billion annually is estimated to be needed until 2030 to transform African food systems. In 2019, Africa spent around US$12 billion on agriculture which was three times the level of 2001. Africa is still well below the 10% level. 

The session will focus on the following questions:

  • How to unlock the capital and investments needed to finance Africa's transformation of agri-food systems?
  • What are the key pillars of a policy advocacy strategy to support expanding investment finance in agriculture in Africa?
  • How can we promote stakeholder agreement around key elements of an African financing agenda for food system transformation?  

This session aims to:

  • Enhance investment finance in agriculture.
  • Improve support to smallholders, especially women, and youth, with financing tailored to their needs.
  • Articulate key elements of an African financing agenda for food systems transformation.
  • Identify priority actions to realize the agenda under domestic resource mobilization, public expenditures, support to and de-risking of sustainable private Finance, and financial inclusion.



Ms. Folly Bah-Thibault
Ms. Folly Bah-Thibault


H.E. Ms. Amina J. Mohammed
H.E. Ms. Amina J. Mohammed

UN Deputy Secretary-General

H.E. Mr. Ahmed Mathode Nunow
H.E. Mr. Ahmed Mathode Nunow

Minister for Agriculture and Irrigation of the Federal Republic of Somalia

H.E. Dr. Fitsum Assefa
H.E. Ms. Fitsum Assefa

Minister of Planning and Development of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

Hon. Ildephonse Musafiri
H.E. Mr. Ildephonse Musafiri

Minister of Agriculture and Animal Resources of the Republic of Rwanda

Dr. Qu Dongyu
Mr. Qu Dongyu

Director-General of FAO

H.E. Ambassador Josefa Leonel Correia SACKO
H.E. Ms. Josefa Leonel Correia Sacko

Commissioner for Agriculture, Rural Development, Blue Economy and Sustainable Environment, African Union Commission (AUC)

Mr. Alvaro Lario
Mr. Alvaro Lario

President of the International Fund of Agricultural Development (IFAD)

Ms Cindy McCain
Ms. Cindy McCain

Executive Director of WFP

H.E. Dr. Ibrahim Assane Mayaki,
Mr. Ibrahim Mayaki

AU Special Envoy on Food Systems

Dr. Agnes Kalibata
Ms. Agnes Kalibata

President of AGRA

Dr. Babafemi Oyewole
Mr. Babafemi Oyewole

Chief Executive Officer, Pan-African Farmers Organization

Ms Ndidi Nwuneli
Ms. Ndidi Nwuneli

Founder/Executive Chair - African Food Changemakers     

Ms. Emanuela Del Re
Ms. Emanuela Del Re

European Union Special Representative for the Sahel Former Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs