Official Opening Ceremony

Monday, 24th July, 14:30-16:30

The UNFSS+2 will be held in a world that has substantially changed from what it was during the 2021 UN Food Systems Summit, due to a number of chronic and acute crises including, but not limited to, a cost of living crisis, geo-political divisions, the triple planetary crisis, the increase of food prices, rising health concerns, and the impacts of conflicts on food systems. The statements during the session will emphasize urgency and actions at national, regional and global levels.

The session will focus on the following objectives:

The opening session will set the objectives of the STM. Through the Statements of Presidents, Prime-Ministers, Secretary-General, and Heads of UN Agencies as well as representatives of the Non-State Actors (NSAs), emphasis will be made on the importance of this event in achieving the following objectives: -

  • Bringing together countries and stakeholders to review the progress made on the commitments to action made, identify successes, bottlenecks, and priorities, and bridge the implementation gap by effectively utilizing the Means of Implementation for food systems transformation.
  •  Raising awareness among world leaders, national decision-makers, and food system actors about the crucial role of sustainable, equitable, healthy, and resilient food systems as critical accelerators for achieving the Sustainable Development Goals.
  • Advocate for urgent, large-scale action by sharing concrete success stories of transformative actions led by both state and non-state actors. 


Antonio Tajani
H.E. Mr. Antonio Tajani

Deputy Prime Minister of Italy and Minister of Foreign Affairs and Development Cooperation

H.E. António Guterres
H.E. Mr. António Guterres

UN Secretary-General 

H.E. Georgia Meloni
H.E. Ms. Giorgia Meloni

Prime Minister of Italy

Abiy Ahmed
H.E. Mr. Abiy Ahmed

Prime Minister of Ethiopia

Sheikh Hasina
H.E. Ms. Sheikh Hasina

Prime Minister of Bangladesh

Fiame Naomi Mataafa
H.E. Ms. Fiamē Naomi Mataʻafa

Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs of Samoa

Pushpa Kamal Dahal
H.E. Mr. Pushpa Kamal Dahal

Prime Minister of Nepal

Dr. Qu Dongyu
Mr. Qu Dongyu

Director-General of FAO

H.E. Mr. Vahagn Khachaturyan
H.E. Mr. Vahagn Khachaturyan

President of Armenia 

Agnes Kalibata
Ms. Agnes Kalibata

President, AGRA

Mr. Alvaro Lario
Mr. Alvaro Lario

President of the International Fund of Agricultural Development (IFAD)

Ms Cindy McCain
Ms. Cindy McCain

Executive Director of WFP

Ms. Inger Ashing
Ms. Inger Ashing

CEO of Save the Children International

Lady Suzzanne Heywood
Lady Suzzanne Heywood

Chair of the Board of Directors, CHN Industrial

Ms. Sophie Healy-Thow
Ms. Sophie Healy-Thow

Act4Food/Act4Change, Scaling Up Nutrition Movement